Sunshine into the Lives of Others: The Inspiring Life Story of Beth L. Tielke

"Those who bring sunshine into the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves." – James Matthew Barrie

Beth Tielke’s Childhood Favorites

on November 7, 2015

Here is the latest semi-monthly excerpt of the late Beth Tielke’s writings about her life, just one way for her memories to continue to live on. Previously we learned what a typical day looked like for Beth and her parents while she was growing up, and now we get a glimpse of her childhood favorites.

Summertime

Writing excerpt from 2002 found in A Journal of Faith and Love: Grandmother’s Memories to Her Grandchild:

CHILDHOOD FAVORITES

My favorite storybook: It was a book with a different story each day of the year.

Every January I would read each day & then later in the year I would forget.

My favorite poem: Over the River & through the wood to Grandmother[‘]s house we go – the horse knows the way to carry the sleigh thru the white and drifted snow –

or something like that. 🙂

My favorite doll or toy: A doll – it was a rubber doll with a bottle that really wet its pants – called [“]Betsy Wetsy”

[T]he doll in the case was my last doll, the clothes are some Grandma made – one year I’d get a doll [&] the next year doll clothes.

My favorite games:

Chinese Checkers

Pitch

Monopoly

Old Maid

Parch[eesi]

My favorite treat: An ice cream cone or fudge cycle when we went to town or pop corn when we listened to the Love Ranger on the radio.

Upcoming excerpts: “MY PETS” and “WHEN I WAS A LITTLE GIRL”.


Leave a comment