Sunshine into the Lives of Others: The Inspiring Life Story of Beth L. Tielke

"Those who bring sunshine into the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves." – James Matthew Barrie

About Beth Tielke’s First Hometown

on October 10, 2015

Here is the semi-monthly excerpt of the late Beth Tielke’s writings about her life, just one way for her memories to continue to live on. Previously we learned about her childhood home and life and now we get a glimpse into Beth’s first hometown.

Main Street and Courthouse - Springview, NE

Main Street and Courthouse – Springview, Keyapaha Co., Nebraska

Image from Bad Men and Bad Towns – By Wayne C. Lee

Writing excerpt from 2002 found in A Journal of Faith and Love: Grandmother’s Memories to Her Grandchild:

MY HOMETOWN

The street I lived on: I lived in the country until after high school – in 1950 we moved to town.

Where I played with my friends: My best friends were Keith, Larry, Kevin & Roger – Our favorite place to play was in Uncle Frank’s creek. We wore cut off striped overalls – of course I had a shirt under mine & underpants. 🙂

My favorite store and why I loved to go there: We just had one store in Springview & it was a grocery plus everything else – I like it because it gave free tickets to the movies on Saturdays.

Where we worshiped: Great Grandma Sloan and a lady by the name of Jessie Hamilton started a Sunday School in our School House 1/2 [mile] north of where I lived[.] [I]t was fun – We sang songs[,] Great Grandma Sloan told us Bible Stories & we met our friends.

Upcoming excerpts: “A TYPICAL DAY GROWING UP ” and “CHILDHOOD FAVORITES” .

Leave a Reply

