Sunshine into the Lives of Others: The Inspiring Life Story of Beth L. Tielke

"Those who bring sunshine into the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves." – James Matthew Barrie

About Beth Tielke’s Childhood Home

on September 26, 2015

Here is the latest semi-monthly excerpt of the late Beth Tielke’s writings about her life, just one way for her memories to continue to live on. Previously we learned about her extended family members and now we get a glimpse into Beth’s childhood home and life.

A Sparrow's Nest - Sunshine into the Lives of Others

A Sparrow’s Nest

Writing excerpt from 2002 found in A Journal of Faith and Love: Grandmother’s Memories to Her Grandchild:

MY CHILDHOOD HOME

My earliest memory of home: We had only 3 chairs. Our main meals were fried potatoes & eggs – mac[]aroni with cream.

Bread with cream & sugar each were separate meals – No electricity or running water – going outside to the bathroom.

My childhood bedroom: It was upstairs – hot in summer & Grandma warmed big rock in the oven to put in my bed to make it warm in winter. In the summer sparrows came through the holes in the windows screens and I’d watch them nest, lay eggs and hatch. Also Millers were really bad – I had a personal lite to read by.

My favorite hiding place: I had a dog named Pal – We lived in a big cottonwood grove so each fall I’d hide in the leaves. He would come uncover me – One day going to school Grandpa let me sit on the tractor & drive [&] when we got almost to school Pal sat down watch the kids – I ran over him – I never had another dog I loved that much.

The yard I played in: We didn’t have yards. I played all over our farm.

Upcoming excerpts: “MY HOMETOWN” and “A TYPICAL DAY GROWING UP “.

Leave a Reply

