Sunshine into the Lives of Others: The Inspiring Life Story of Beth L. Tielke

"Those who bring sunshine into the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves." – James Matthew Barrie

About Beth Tielke’s Father

on August 28, 2015

I’m continuing to post semi-monthly excerpts of the late Beth Tielke’s writings about her life as one way for her memories to continue to live on. Last time we learned about her mother and now we will learn about her father.

Daddy's Hands

In our “Spring” interview last fall, Beth remembered her father’s hands. She said he had big, rough hands and they were all cut and scratched from barbed wire since he didn’t have gloves to wear. She said she didn’t know if men didn’t use hand lotion in those times or if they just didn’t have the money to use it.

Writing excerpt from 2002 found in A Journal of Faith and Love: Grandmother’s Memories to Her Grandchild:

ABOUT MY FATHER

My father’s full name: Charles William Sloan

His birth date and place of birth: [February 17, 1901] McCook, Ne.

My father’s best story about growing up: Grandpa died when I was 25. I really don’t remember his stories much.

I know he only went to the 8th grade – imagine making your own living at 13 years of age.

One of my most precious memories of my father: Anything I wanted he would do for me – I remember him pulling the car up the hills back of the barn and onto the road so he could take me to town. (This was back of the big shed.)

Upcoming excerpts: “MY FAMILY” and “MY CHILDHOOD HOME“.

Leave a Reply

