Sunshine into the Lives of Others: The Inspiring Life Story of Beth L. Tielke

"Those who bring sunshine into the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves." – James Matthew Barrie

Spring Has Sprung! Or at Least the First Interview [For This Site] Has Bloomed!

on October 6, 2014

Interview with Beth Tielke – “Spring”

In this conversation, we focus on the first twenty years of Beth’s life. In terms of this website’s theme, as we let Beth’s life story unfold in our interviews, I’m labeling the first 20 years as “Spring.”

I began with a quote I found by a person named Doug Larson:

“Spring is when you feel like whistling even with a shoe full of slush.”

Beth shared a fond childhood memory that quote stirred up for her and I shared that I liked that quote because it reminds me of her cheerful disposition whenever she sees that “life hands someone lemons”—she always sees a way to make lemonade. People also call this finding the silver lining. Press play below to find out how it is that she has a way of seeing the good—even in not-so-good situations!

I concluded the interview with a quote from Bern Williams:

“The day the Lord created hope was probably the same day he created spring.”

While I know Beth was born right before spring [and in fact, her birthday is the day before mine!], I think it’s also true that the day the Lord created hope was the same day he created her.

6 responses to “Spring Has Sprung! Or at Least the First Interview [For This Site] Has Bloomed!

  1. Your grandma Ashley, is truly one of the kindest people I’ve ver met. She is an inspiration to us all.

    Like

  2. Cathy (Vitt) Addison says:

    Ashley, I really appreciate the love you demonstrate in writing your grandmother, Beth’s, life memories. She is probably the most loving and caring person I know, and will ever know. I am anxious to hear more of your interviews. Sending my love to you and your whole family!

    Like

  3. Merri Schneider says:

    Thank you for sharing! Lots of great messages in this interview! We will never stop learning from her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

